Courtesy Denver Art Museum. Photo Jeff Wells.


Logan Lecture with Phillip K Smith. Photo by Brandon Vargas.

Contemporary Alliance is a membership group that supports the Denver Art Museum’s modern and contemporary department through programming and fundraising to promote a vibrant contemporary art community. We encourage the appreciation of modern and contemporary art to a broad and expanding audience.

Through programs and events that explore the leading edge of contemporary art in an intellectually accessible way, we build connections and encourage conversations among curators, scholars, artists, and collectors.

If you believe contemporary art can (and should) be both entertaining and challenging, engaging, and provocative, we encourage you to join us at one of our upcoming events. Or, even better, why not become a member?


Since its founding in 1978, Contemporary Alliance (originally, the Alliance for Contemporary Art) has supported the modern and contemporary art department of the Denver Art Museum (DAM). For 40 years this volunteer and member-supported organization has provided the community with:

  • Dialogues with artists
  • Curator-led, behind-the-scenes tours of current exhibitions
  • Visits to private collections, galleries, and artist studios
  • Funding for DAM programming and acquisitions

Current Contemporary Alliance programs include the Logan Lecture Series (made possible with the generous support of Vicki and Kent Logan). The Logan Lecture Series has brought over 100 contemporary artists to the museum to discuss their work and engage audiences in stimulating conversation about contemporary art.

At Contemporary Alliance, we aim to provide our members with uniquely engaging insights into the vibrant art community surrounding the Denver Art Museum.

Logan Lecture Series

A generous donation made by Vicki and Kent Logan makes this lecture series possible. Logan Lectures are free for all Contemporary Alliance members.


DAM Key Awards 

Since its inauguration in 1984, the DAM Key Awards have been presented to individuals and organizations that have dramatically impacted the contemporary art community in Colorado. The award recognizes the giants of Denver’s contemporary art world who curate, collect, create, cultivate, and critique.

2018 Winners
Jill Hadley Hooper
Tracy Weil

2017 Winners
Devon Dikeou
Simon Zalkind

2016 Winners
Judy Anderson
Gwen Chanzit
Michael Paglia

2015 Winners
Arlene and Barry Hirschfield
Jim Green

2014 Winners
Deborah Jordy

2013 Winners
Suzanne Farver


Rebecca Hart
Vicki and Kent Logan Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art

Kaitlin Maestas
Curatorial Assistant, Modern and Contemporary Art

Jennifer Miklosi
Contemporary Alliance Manager


Mandy Vink

Matt Holman

Justin Reinking


Kristin Bahnsen
Kecia Benvenuto
Andrea Berit Howell
Wynn Buzzell
Jaime Carrejo
Angie Fletcher
Shanna Hennig
Andrea Howell
Jeff Lambson
Jennifer McIntire
Gabrielle Schuller
Kyra Weinkle